Upgrading to a new phone is always an exciting time – especially when you’re breaking the mould by joining Raylo. But before you sell your old device, it’s definitely the smart choice to remove your personal data.

Be careful: Before you begin, make sure you don’t manually delete your contacts, calendars, reminders, documents, photos, or any other iCloud information while signed in to iCloud with your Apple ID, as this will also delete your content from the iCloud servers. 

Instead, follow these quick and easy steps:

Step 1 – Back up your device

  • You can only do this when connected to Wi-Fi
  • Go to Settings tap your Name, then tap iCloud, as highlighted below.  
  • Scroll down to iCloud Backup, as highlighted below. This should be switched on. If it's not, do so by tapping the button on the right, which should turn green. 
  • Then tap Back Up Now, as highlighted below, and wait for the process to be completed.
  • This can take a few minutes. 

Step 2 – Sign out of iCloud and the iTunes & App Store.

  • If using iOS 10.3 or later, tap Settings, then your Name. Scroll down and tap Sign Out, as shown below. 
  • Enter your Apple ID password and tap Turn Off
  • If using iOS 10.2 or earlier, tap Settings, then  iCloud, then Sign Out. Tap Sign Out again, then tap Delete from My [device] and enter your Apple ID password. Then go to Settings, iTunes & App Store, Apple ID  and Sign Out.

Step 3 – Erase all content

  • Go back to Settings and tap General then Reset, as shown below. 
  • Tap Erase All Content and Settings
  • You'll be prompted to back up your device again. But there's no need to do that again, so go ahead and tap Erase Now, as shown below.

Step 4 – Erase all content using device passcode
If asked for your device passcode or Restrictions passcode, enter it. Then tap Erase device.

You've now successfully removed your personal data from your old device, which is safe to be sold, recycled or given away - nice work!

Did this answer your question?